The Cough Medicine Chronicles: Vol. 1

I don’t feel well. I awoke this morning with chills, body aches, and a mouth so dry that my taste buds were seeing mirages of ice-cold glasses of water. I climbed out of bed, actually fell out of bed would be a little more accurate, and collapsed on the couch. I always seem to gravitate towards the couch when I’m sick- it makes me feel safer for some reason. I suppose if I were to pass out or slip into a coma or something, it would take someone less time to find me on the couch than if I were in bed. (My Motto? “Always Be Prepared!”)

Once I lied down, curled up under my favorite leopard blankey, (Yes, Blankey. Got a problem with that?… didn’t think so.) and got my dog comfy right beside me, as he usually is- I realized, much to my dismay, that the remote control was across the room on top of the television set. Really? Why in the world would it be On Top of the TV itself?! *Sigh* The remote seems to be looking right at me, mocking me. Its just sitting there as if to say, “You’re incredibly comfortable laying there with your blanket and your dog. You know you need me, but I’m waaaay over here! I give all in this relationship- I’m always right there when you need me, conforming to you every whim with a push of a button. Well, not anymore. If you want me, you have to come to me.” I do my best Darth Vader impersonation, and try desperately to use The Force. But the remote just sits there, motionless, seemingly unaffected by my futile attempts to send it my way. As I push the dog aside, he gives me a grunt of disapproval. I stood-up long enough to swipe the remote control from atop the TV set, and then collapsed on the couch once again.

My plans for the remainder of my day includes writing, sleeping, blogging, sleeping, eating, and once again sleeping.

I hope your day was better than mine!

Kisses!

– Newbie.

It Happened Today: April 3rd

1860 – The first Pony Express riders left St. Joseph, MO and Sacramento, CA.  The trip across country took about 10 days.  The Pony Express only lasted about a year and a half.
1933 – First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt informed newspaper reporters  that beer would be served at the White House.  This followed       the March 22 legislation that legalized “3.2” beer.

1949 – Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis debuted on radio on the “Martin and Lewis Show”.  The NBC program ran until 1952.

1969Jim Morrison was arrested by the FBI for interstate flight, which stemmed from obscenity charges after a Miami concert.

1986 – The U.S. national debt hit $2 trillion.

1996 – Unabomber suspect Theodore Kaczynski was arrested.  He pled guilty in January 1998 to five Unabomber attacks in exchange for a life sentence without chance for parole.

1991Dweezil Zappa and Donny Osmond performed the BeeGees song “Stayin’ Alive.”

2010 – The Wi-Fi version of the Apple iPad went on sale.

Birthdays:

Marlon Brando 1924 – Actor, “The Godfather”, “Apocalypse Now”

Wayne Newton 1942 – Singer

Alec Baldwin (Alexander Rae Baldwin III) 1958 – Actor

Jennie Garth 1972 – Actress, “Beverly Hills 90210”