Poems: More than just rhymes

poem1

I’ve noticed lately that a lot of fellow bloggers have been posting beautiful poems, and it is my understanding that this month is Poetry Month, or something like that. I check posts from the bloggers I follow numerous times per day, and I’ve been greatly inspired by their beautiful words and ability to rhyme like nobody’s business… so, I thought I would sit down and give it a try myself. That was a bad idea.

After an hour and 20-30 sheets of ripped paper scattered on the floor, I decided that poetry was not for me. (Hey! I made a rhyme! Ironic, huh?) I chose a topic, wrote maybe two lines, and could simply go no further. I changed topics multiples times- still nothing. Even if I could find words to rhyme, ultimately they made no sense. Now, had this been my first attempt at poetry, I would have most certainly put forth more of an effort. (Probably like an extra 30 minutes or so.) But, sadly, I’ve tried on many different occasion to pen a flowing work of literary art, but each time failing more miserably than the last.

All this to say, keep on writing poems, because I really enjoy them. Just don’t expect one from me anytime soon.

Leave a comment